I Am Not A Heretic


I believe Jesus is Emmanuel, God With Us, God in the Flesh (John 1:1-3,14).

I believe that the Bible, as we have it, is the inspired Word of God, which Jesus embodied (as the Logos).

I believe that God is responsible for all things that have been, are, and will be, in the process of creation, direction, life, and sustenance.

I believe that God empowers people, as the Bible states, in spiritual gifting (1 Corinthians 12 is a good place to start), and to perform great feats in the name of God (David and Samson are the first names to come to mind).

I believe that without a personal intervention with God, all human beings are doomed to hell (although I do not know the fate of any other part of creation).

I believe that all people are sinners, and God still loves us but does not like our sin, just as a parent loves their child, but doesn’t like it when they scream and fight).

I believe in the resurrection of Jesus Christ, and the promise of resurrection to all followers of Him.

This all sounds pretty standard, right?  I would think that the majority of truly devout Christians would say, “Yup, that looks pretty Biblical,” and if that’s not the case, it’s probably because I’m not great at wording my thoughts all the time.

So, you’d think with all that, I’d be accepted and affirmed as a Christian pretty well anywhere.  Well, that’s not quite the case.

In various posts, I’ve noted that I’m a modalist, and I know that that term is often met with offense from all the hard-core trinitarians.  Well, here is what I believe in regards to modalism, and maybe it will clear some things up.

I believe that Christ, the Devine-component of Jesus, has always been, as Christ is the absolute fullness of God.  The pre-existence is naturally a result of this, although there was no Jesus Christ, of whom the human-flesh component wasn’t born until approximately 3 B.C.

I believe that Jesus was fully God, and fully man.  I believe that there was some sort of fused duality to Jesus, but the flesh (man) was always subserviant to the Deity and Authority of Jesus the God.

I believe that the Godhead consists of one entity, God, who has revealed himself as the Father, the empowering Holy Spirit, and the man Jesus Christ.

I believe that on the cross, when Jesus questioned, “Why have you forsaken me?” the deity of Christ left the body, so the man could carry the sins and die.

I believe that on the cross, when Jesus said, “It is finished,” that the problem with sin was dealt with.

I believe that when Jesus died, His man-component was re-united with the Devine-component, and Jesus met with the man on the cross in heaven, where Jesus remained for the next 3 days.

I believe, as a result, that Jesus did not go to hell to fight Satan (doesn’t even make sense, as Satan does not rule hell, according to the Bible).

I believe that when Jesus resurrected Himself, His physical body became a glorified body.

I believe that God returned after He, as Jesus, ascended, in the form of the empowering/comforting Holy Spirit.

Now, somewhere in those last few statements of belief, either my logic or statements themselves have caused me to be a splinter in someChristian groups that I commune.  In college, it spawned some reasonable arguements with some of my professors, to the point where my wife and I (whom I share similar beliefs with) have been called heretics, which ultimately means that we cannot be part of the Christian group.

With what you just read, even if you don’t agree with my beliefs, do you see any problems with Christianity?

2 thoughts on “I Am Not A Heretic

  1. The idea that being of a different point of view regarding the nature of the unfathomable God puts someone’s salvation into question is a killer. All Christians should agree that there is ONE God. All Christian believe in the revelation of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. I thought that was enough in that regard and I still do. Hmm, I believe GRACE is a person: JESUS CHRIST. I believe TRUTH is a person: JESUS CHRIST. I believe we’re all gonna get the finger wag from God when we stand in His presence in Heaven, and we’ll realize how stupid we were to think we know it all, and to give theology priority of His Gospel of Grace. ‘Preciate the blog, bro!

Leave a Reply

