What is actually Prophesied about Israel in the Bible?


I’m constantly told that because I’m a (semi-)Preterist, I must be wrong, specifically because Israel became a nation/country in 1948.  I have been told countless times that it is definitive Biblical prophesy, but I’ve never been given verses or reference for this prophesy.  In light of that, I decided I’d use my good friend google and search out this prophesy.

I found a website that supports this prophesy at http://www.1260-1290-days-bible-prophecy.org.  The idea of this is tracks prophesy and numerical patterns.  I’ll have to say, it looks like they are just mashing together convenient numbers, but I decided I’d try and keep my skepticism about this website aside and try and figure out if this prophesy is true.  I am hesitant about this website, because it is “Biblical Numerology.”  Some Christians believe that numerology (the study of numbers to reveal a hidden message) is sinful, but the Bible does not address it in any way, however numerology seems to present Christianity as gnosticism (special/hidden knowledge to bring salvation), which is not Biblical.

Anyway, back on topic.  I decided I’d look at multiple sources, as I am hesitant to solely go on one source based on numerology.  Biblically, everywhere I look tends to point to Ezekiel 36-37, but I decided to read up to chapter 39 (as 40 is the “rebuilt” temple).  I read it, and I am left with a lot of missing data.  Does Ezekiel 36-39 talk about Israel being returned to their land?  Yes.  Does Ezekiel 36-39 mention Israel becoming self-governed?  No.  When the Bible refers to Israel, it refers to the people, not the location. In fact, it was the name given to Jacob because he “wrestled” with God and saw Him face to face.  In Genesis 35:9-15, God reaffirms the title, and it is now known that Israel is the name given to all the descendants from Jacob onward.

So with this context, does Ezekiel 36-39 establish Israel as a self-governing nation/country?  Well, certainly a nation, but not a country.  There are many words in Hebrew that would have been better to describe a country.  With this, I believe it is not biblical to assert that Israel becoming a country is prophesied.

Sorry, my brother Zionists, but the theory doesn’t match the data, or at least there is not enough data to justify the theory.  Yes, I hear you’re waiting for Israel to be done it’s punishment according to punishment seven fold and whatever numbers you use.  I encourage you to keep waiting, because if I am wrong, someone definitely has to be correct, and it could be you (I’m actually being sincere, even though it sounds sarcastic).

I know what everyone is thinking: but Israel are God’s chosen people!  But wait, there is more.  God says the people He desires (or maybe chooses?) are people that can worship Him in spirit and in truth (John 4:23-24).  The Bible also says that there is no separation between any person (Galatians 3:26-29; Colossians 3:1-11; 1 Corinthians 12:12-14).  I know we want to put the Jewish people on a God-given pedestal because they have a long history with God, but when we do that to any person or thing that isn’t God, it’s idolatry (Exodus 20:4-6)!

Leave a Reply

