How God gets my attention (and maybe yours?)


This is true for me, and may or may not be true for you.  I am talking about the sensation of God directing your attention to Himself.

The feeling I get is weird.  It’s like something grabs me on the inside, like my lungs and stomach, and gives them a gentle squeeze.  I’ve only had this feeling in a few different situations, and can’t self-replicate it.  When I get this feeling, I get a sudden awareness of where I am, and the feeling is usually associated with a desire to cry, and most of the time, crying doesn’t necessarily make sense in the situation.

Sometimes it happens when I’m making a difficult decision, it’s happened multiple times in a church situation, and sometimes in my personal prayer time.  I’ve been surprised that in a church situation, amongst the sensation of awareness, I find that other people begin to cry also, meanwhile we’re not connected or associated.

A friend of mine calls this being “Touched by the Holy Spirit.”  This is ultimately, being touched by God.  The worst/best part of this sensation, is you feel like you have absolutely no control over this feeling, but you also feel completely okay with it.

This isn’t a pentecostal thing.  This is a God thing.  Any Christian can have this sensation.  It’s not a matter of asking/praying for the sensation.  It’s a matter of asking for God’s presence.  Every time I’ve gone to a church and told God, “If I’m going, you better be there too, ” I have had this sensation, and usually have see other people experiencing it, too.

Any thoughts?
-Alex

One thought on “How God gets my attention (and maybe yours?)

  1. Yep…me too. It takes my breath away…probably because I talk way too much and God requires my silence so that I can hear His sweet voice. :) I am always gripped by His greatness…the control that He has when I don’t have any….His perfect plan that I can have confidence in when I am thinking that I am making the plans….His sovereign grace to take me through anything! ….His loving gentle ways…

Leave a Reply

