Baptism of the Holy Spirit


So, a few days ago, I asked some friends whom I knew were filled with the Spirit to pray over me to recieve the baptism of the Holy Spirit.

No, I didn’t randomly fall over, nor did I convulse or speak in tongues.  To be honest, at the time, I did not feel anything.  As much as I believe the Holy Spirit is experiential, as my friend Tim would say, this baptism is a mysterious one.

1 Corinthians 12 says,

7Now to each one the manifestation of the Spirit is given for the common good. 8To one there is given through the Spirit the message of wisdom, to another the message of knowledge by means of the same Spirit, 9to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healing by that one Spirit, 10to another miraculous powers, to another prophecy, to another distinguishing between spirits, to another speaking in different kinds of tongues, and to still another the interpretation of tongues.  11All these are the work of one and the same Spirit, and he gives them to each one, just as he determines.

With this [non-definitive] list, I’ve kept in mind that Christ is not going to give a gift that I would not be able to use, or that has no purpose in God’s ministry in my life.  So, I am going through this list, and asked God, “Which of these do you want me to have?  What gifting do you have in store for me?”

The impression I get from God, is that He wants us to be operating in all of those gifts.  I think my problem is that I want to be able to do them on my own will-power.  I want to think and know, I want to build my faith, I want to heal people, I want to control power, etc.

To operate in any gift, I think it is essential to release parts of you for God to definitively control.  Not just a prayer of saying, “Dear God, my mouth is yours,” or similar, but to be actively seeking God to be apart of you in that area.  This basically means, every time you want to speak, asking God what He wants to say.  If He wants you to speak in a tongue, or to interpret it, or to heal, He will do it, you just have to be willing.

Leave a Reply

